Jelly, Slime and Bog

Today I braved the elements to go out to our Longshaw Fungus Survey. Only 2 of us turned up, which meant we had Chris, the National Trust Ranger, to ourselves. He took us into the Sheffield Plantation area of the site and explained the plans for the restoration the area to woodland pasture, opening up the canopy by removing a lot of old trees and planting some new ones. We learnt a lot about the area and plan to follow the development of the fungal flora there over the next few years. We found lots of jellies and slime moulds (this one rejoices in the name Ceratiomyxa fructiculosa). After some lunch, Steve and I went out again to look at a boggy area to see if we could find some small mushrooms. We found quite a few types, which we photographed and documented and Steve took samples to look at microscopically to confirm IDs.
As it was so wet, it was an ideal opportunity to put my new iPhone macro lenses through their paces rather than set up my camera. They have limited depth of field, but I'm quite pleased with some of the shots I was able to get.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.