Vulnerability

This fledgling blue tit flew into the house and perched on a door frame, uncertain what to do. I opened the roof light so it could escape but it didn't seem to want to. It probably isn't ready to leave the care of its parents. Something else for me to worry about.

Very many thanks for all the kind messages of sympathy and support following my close encounter with an angry dog yesterday. I felt very comforted. The wound is still sore but healing. The event played out as follows.
I went to make a statement at the local police station. It turned out that earlier today the dog-owner had rung in to report the incident and to confess that the details he had given me had been false. He now wanted to come clean. I was driven out to the dog-owners' holiday cottage to identify the dog. The wife (who had not been at the beach when the incident occurred) had been very distressed and was profoundly apologetic. She is a lifelong dog lover. The dog is much loved and well-cared for, and normally kept under control.
The upshot is that the dog-owner (the man) will receive a formal caution which will remain on his record for the rest of his life and the dog must be muzzled in future. I felt this was an acceptable outcome and was relieved that the dog would not be destroyed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.