stujphoto

By stujphoto

Not so lonesome any more...

A couple of weeks ago I pictured a lone swan at Seafield Pond as my blip and received many expressions of sympathy for the is poor isolated swan bereft of a partner at this nesting time of year. However, I was wrong as I had not spotted the nest, that hjs partner was sitting on, is tucked away in the reeds . I suspect that they have moved their nest from its usual place as all but one of their cygnets were killed last year, presumably by foxes. This nest is far less accessible to land predators. I managed to find a location where I can just about get a decent photo of the nest with my longest lens combination and have produced another blip to prove that the lonesome swan’s manly charms are not waning. The female was moving around on the nest whilst ~i was photographing so I managed to get a shot where her head is visible unlike the usual nesting situation where the female is all curled up on the nest. I not sure what the gestation period is for swans so I don't know how long I will be waiting for the cygnets to raise their heads. Watch this space. I must say I wish I could be a lot closer to follow this family saga but having the dogs with me restricts how close I dare get to there nest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.