All about Lallybroch

By Lallybroch

The Bird Rescuer

Aunty Foreveryoung and her hubbie came to visit today. Just as I was settling down to eat my lunch she suddenly jumped up from the sofa and ran towards the kitchen. As I looked up, I saw a wee bird flying through my hallway and my cats looking very aggitated. Can only assume one of the cats had brought the poor wee thing in through the cat flap.

After a few minutes we managed to get the bird outside, but it promptly fell through a gap between the decking and the drainpipe! I couldn't bear to leave it there, potentially injured, so Foreveryoung quickly put on her outdoor gear, armed herself with a torch and set off to rescue it. After clearing some snow from the decking, and despite it being a narrow gap she managed to get the bird out and after sitting on her hand for several minutes it flew off. Fingers crossed it wasn't too traumatised and will be ok!

Ethan update for today. We had a much better night with him last night! I tried the hot water bottle in his crib to warm it up before we put him in it, also played him lullabies through the monitor and (I hate saying this) I gave him a dummy. I've always been anti-dummies but I have to say, this combination seemed to work. He fell asleep within 15 minutes and slept for a whole hour before waking up needing a particularly bad nappy change! He was still restless for a lot of the night but didn't howl like he has previously so it's a step in the right direction. I really hope it wasn't a one off and we get many more nights like this! Thank you to everyone who has given advice on the sleep issue - I really appreciate all your help!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.