WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Sunshine in a jar

Today I decided to emulate nanou and attempt some food photography, using the jars of apricot jam I made yesterday. First I googled photos of jam for inspiration, and found it surprisingly useful. If nothing else it established that you have to have a spoon and a smear of jam in your photo :)

I set up tripod, light tent, and supplementary lighting (aka a desk lamp) as it was a dull day. I took about 20 photos with different settings, and the second surprise was that I preferred the ones where I used the flash -- which I'd always thought was a no-no for food photography, especially shooting so close up. But it really brought out the jewel-like colour of the jam.

The weather means our idea of a barbecue in the garden has been knocked on the head, so I'm off to cook braised lamb steaks instead!

PS for fans of Mystère, here's today's blip alternative, a momentary distraction from my photo session.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.