Mikey88

By Mikey88

Incoming

I did get down to the river today, and spend from 10.15am to about 1.30 working on getting pictures of the false oil beetles in flight. I came home with almost five hundred pictures, so didn't finish sorting through them until today (6th). Most shots were of the oil beetles, but some of other insects and a pair of swans which swam past and began preening themselves. Unfortunately, the reflection on the water was dark and the sun was shining on the swans, so I have a feeling the highlights will be blown out when I come to edit them.

The pair of beetles in the picture are both males, and the flying one landed on the same flower as the other one. There followed a few seconds of scuffling and rolling about, then one of them flew off. This happened several time while I was watching and I got a series of shots of one of these tussles. I also managed to get some shots of a pair mating on a buttercup. It was quite fascinating watching them over the three hours or so I was there - but I did end up with an aching back from leaning over to try and get to their level. Worth a look in large.

Didn't take any pictures today (6th) as I was asked to do a day of supply teaching in my old school. It was with my last class from before I retired and I was really pleased to see them again - and I think they were pleased to see me. It was great going back, but even better coming away and knowing I don't have to go in again on Monday!

Hope you all have a great weekend and don't suffer too much from the threatened thunderstorms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.