Cat Napping

CAT NAP

Today I reached up for my hat
And there, inside, a happy cat
Was sleeping sound and making noise
That would put to shame six rowdy boys
"Now this is such a shame," I said
"I can't wear cat upon my head!"
"I guess instead I'll stay within"
With this the cat woke with a grin
And started stretching, as cats do
With a look that asked me: "Who are you?"
Which was an insult, don't you see
That fat old cat belongs to me

When first I met this cute feline
This rotund lad who now is mine
He was a furry little ball
He was not hardly there at all
But in a little while with care
I knew that he was really there
I had myself a total cat
And the whole wide world to share

And so we share a nice big house
I do the work, he dreams of mouse
We get along as real friends should
Sometimes we're bad, more often good
I treat him with the best of care
He showers me with used cat hair
He loves me too, or loves his food
And keeps me in a happy mood
And so it is and this is that
I'm going to let him keep my hat

Copyright © Frank Paylor, 1998

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.