A nation of tea drinkers

Us Brits drink a lot of tea. Or at least we used to before the rise of the fancy coffee market.

Nothing too adventurous on the tea front mind you; black tea with milk. Them I moved to the Middle East and whilst I smuggled in catering packs of tea bags I also got a taste for the sweet Arabic tea which, although boiled to within an inch of its life, tasted so good in the dry heat.

Japan however must surely take the crown for the range of teas sold at the corner shop. This was just one cabinet - there was another equally full of different brands. Today I splashed out and treated myself to barley tea, rooibos tea, and white and yellow peach tea! As a result I'm feeling quite cosmopolitan!

Never trust a man who, when left alone in a room with a tea cozy, doesn't try it on.
Billy Connolly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.