WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

House martin

Avoiding the rain today, I woke up quite early to take the dog out. After watching a calf suckling from its mum, I came across some swallows and house martins flitting around in the sky. I've never managed a decent shot of one so I thought I'd have a go.

Not a chance!

I turned round and spotted some on the floor collecting mud which slowed them down a little as they approached. I managed this one, just missing its wing tip! The farmer, a little surprised to see me crouching on the floor, stopped to have a chat about the birds. He was asking which they were and I told him about my way of remembering:

Swifts: Have a swift lick of black paint (i.e. totally black (actually brown but they look black!))

Swallows: You need a fork to put food in your mouth and swallow (i.e. long forked tail)

House martins: The others! i.e. not totally black and no long fork.

Sand martins: Sandy brown house martins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.