WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Mini adventure

Rich is away in Scotland at the moment so I took the opportunity of a mountain adventure in The Lakes on my own. I left with the dog late yesterday afternoon, hopefully in time for the rain to stop when we arrived. I was keen to see the osprey at Bassenthwaite but they weren't out.

Instead, the unexpected occurred. After the torrential downpours of the day - the lake turned into a mill pond which apparently just happened as I arrived. So, a switch of the lens and an opportunity to try out my new filter instead. I couldn't have asked for a better vista for my first test.

For some unknown reason, a bee has developed in my bonnet to start the day early if the weather is fine. This is so not normally my style but I am rather enjoying it. So, with the alarm set for 5am, we shut up shop for the night at 9.30pm. Little Dog was soon in the bad books after I realised she was not having nightmares nor barking at intruders but woofing at the chickens she could hear on the other side of the wall. After realising this at midnight, I smothered her with a pillow (nicely, of course!) and all was well until the alarm sounded.

The day was beautiful. I started off back at the lake with the possibility of the ospreys again but they are clearly not early risers. So, off we went on our walk. We took in Grisedale Pike, Hobcarton Head, Crag Hill and Sail before heading back between Outerside and Barrow to return to Braithwaite. This view was on the way up with much of the horseshoe visible.

There were about six spots of rain and a bit of a bluster at times but it was a beautiful day and I only met one person on the way. I breathed in the colours and smiled at the clouds (in my usual little way).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.