Blasts from the past

With the miserable weather forecast for today, I decided to attempt some much-needed sorting of boxes of assorted junk memorabilia.

I came across a box of monochrome prints from approximately 1982/3. So here are a couple of images demonstrating that I had a penchant for street photography even then.

I remember deciding that a traffic warden in action might make a good subject. That very day, as I was parking my car in Burnley town centre, this scene developed in front of. Just time to pull the Pentax ME Super from the boot and shoot as he put the ticket under the windscreen wiper.

The lad with the pigeons was photographed in Trafalgar Square, in the days when you were encouraged to feed the birds. Its a sad sign of the times that I would now never feel comfortable photographing an unknown youngster in a public place. I think that's a shame because some of the best street photographs from previous decades contain children playing, providing an invaluable record for future viewers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.