gennepher

By gennepher

A microbiologist and an astrobiologist...

I noticed this stone among some very old gravestones so I took a photo. I didn't realize what I had until I got home and researched the name.

It appears he tragically died in a traffic accident whilst jogging, only 55 years of age at the height of his research powers. His passion was science and the Antarctic environment, where he went many times doing research on freeze/thaw events and how they controlled microbial respiration processes. He promoted the Antarctica and its micro-organisms as analogues for extraterrestrial life.

(This info gathered from The Guardian, 15th April 2002)

The grave inscription below...

DAVID DONALDSON
WYNN-WILLIAMS
OF THE ANTARCTIC
16th JULY 1946-24th MARCH 2002
REST IN PEACE

'AND DREAMING THROUGH THE TWILIGHT
THAT DOTH NOT RISE NOR SET
HAPLY I MAY REMEMBER
AND HAPLY MAY FORGET'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.