Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Gutted!

I didn't post this last night as I wanted to make absolutely sure I wasn't making a mistake.

Often it's best to go with your gut feeling. As I left for work, the night before, I saw an old black Saab, with occupants who didn't tally with my idea of birders, watching the kestrels nest with binoculars. I made a mental note to call my neighbour to get the registration number but there was a lot going on when I got to work and couldn't call. How I wish I'd turned back.

This is the total of the family remaining. Mum and Dad on the upper branch and one single chick in the nest.

I took photos of three chicks in the afternoon... when I got home two were missing. I've searched the tree. The chicks are too young to fly. The one pictured here is the most advanced and was hopping on the branches.. the other two hadn't left the nest.

Helen had seen the car too. She's noted it but not taken the registration number. How or when they took the chicks we can't know but the theft has been reported. Next year a security camera is going up.

Nothing can condone the theft of wildlife.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.