Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Open gardens

What a beautiful day - doors all flung open to cool the house down, sunshine, blue skies and the obligatory BBQ for lunch. A really beautiful day - pity I spent a fair bit of it in front of the computer.

There were a few Open Gardens on today at houses near us so after lunch Gavin and I went to have a look. They were so popular, I think in this lovely weather people were keen to get out and wander around lovely gardens. It is organised by a charity and for £5.50 for two gardens you get to wander around and enjoy a lovely cup of tea and home baked cakes. Except we had just eaten lunch so passed on the delicious looking carrot cake on offer...

I took the wrong lens so was not too happy with my photos of the gardens, but this is of one of the houses. I presumed it was lived in by a widow as the garden had many little beautifully designed sections with no open space for someone to kick a ball or run around, and in the one corner there was a granite column marking a grave with dates that looked as if it could possibly be her departed husband.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.