Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Not quite a Dove

Especially for Tigg as I missed Ascension...

Today is Shavuot or Pentecost or Whitsun! Well, Pentecost and Whitsun are pretty much the same but I wanted to mark Shavuot as it is one of the three main feasts when Jerusalem would have been filled with returning pilgrims from around the world. It was the perfect time for Pentecost to happen so people could hear the gospel in their own language.

So, my picture... which I REALLY wanted to be of a dove descending but couldn't find at short notice... is part of the [Egyptian] roof in Wafi (mall) which we popped into for the briefest moment looking for ... buttons! My new jacket needs smarter buttons than what the tailor was throwing in for free so I was on the look out. You won't believe how hard it is to find buttons here. Not many stores now stock them. We visited 4 very distinct parts of town before we found some.

Sunday's are SO tough after two day weekends; I just about made it to the end of the day and then had this busy evening racing around town for buttons. Everything else I wanted to do today has been put off till tomorrow. Good night now.

PS. I have to admit I am surprised how many comments I got on my Hallmark blip. Never expected that! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.