Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Indian lunch

We met the other music group guys for lunch, at an Indian restaurant recommended by one of our number who has an apartment in Berlin and knows the Schöneberg area well. The food was good, the company was great, and the weather was beautiful.

Two of us were going to Billy Budd, Benjamin Britten's opera, in the Deutsche Oper, so we made arrangements to  meet for that. The Metro system brought us to the door of the opera house, and we quickly settled in for the performance. It turned out to be utterly wonderful, and the audience reception was wildly enthusiastic. Afterwards we all met up in a bar near Wittenberg Platz, where I got involved in a conversation with the customer in the seat beside me in the beer garden. He complimented me on my German, which really pleased me, since I'm very much out of practice.

It was another late night, but a very enjoyable one, with the opera a superb highlight. Unfortunately, I forgot to bring my camera with me in the evening, so the blip shows the reflected canopy of the Indian restaurant from lunch time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.