Jarv

By the time the young sleepover guests had gone and this week's Panini stickers purchase had been 'processed' with the now ubiquitous "got got need got need got need got got" mantra it was time to head out for this. Not actually there in person but one of those beamed around the cinemas satellite jobs, so I got to see the women's choir singing 'Common People' on Sheffield City Hall steps, watch all the guests arrive and see Jarvis and co in the Q&A afterwards. And the film itself was pretty wonderful, being more around Sheffield and pop fandom than Pulp themselves. Lots of priceless moments in the film, lots of highly memorable scenes and local characters, I won't divulge owt, the less you know the better the surprise. And, having lived there myself from 1987-94, there was plenty to ooh and aah at as well just from local landmarks and places that I knew. Endcliffe Park! Castle Market! Massively recommended for anyone with even a passing interest in pop culture.

"Now you can tell us some lies about the good times that you've had, I've kissed your mother twice and now I'm working on your dad"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.