Vikingland

I am so behind with things at work after having had 2 weeks off to concentrate on my thesis, so I decided to go to work today even though it is a holiday.

I left early though - at 2 pm - and went to the old Viking Fortress Trelleborg, which is about 30 km from here.

Trelleborg is a circular fort, built by the Vikings in the Viking Age. It excavated in the years 1936-1941. Traditionally, the name Trelleborg has been translated to 'a fortress built by slaves', since the Old Norse word for slave was thrall (The modern Danish word is træl) and borg means fortress or city.

Trelleborg is an amazing place - so beautiful and you can almost feel the history in the air. It is facinating to try to imagine the vikings, who lived there...

It was a very warm day, but the dogs found a stream in which they could have a swim and cool a bit.

There are more pictures on Flickr. I especially love all the cute sheep pictures :-)

The boys had an ice cream each, when we came back to the car :-)

It has been a wonderful day - I have really enjoyed it.

See you tomorrow.
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.