OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Rabbit in daisies and buttercups

A beautiful day in Birsay (but for one shower). A start at The Loons hide, as usual, where I saw a water rail chick with its mother. Along to Marwick and up the path to the cliff-top. Pretty busy up there for Orkney, but I suppose it is high summer. When the shower was just starting I thought I was clever by finding shelter in the lee of the bedrock on a sloping pavement of stone. It was easy to walk across dry but I soon found that the rain made the rock extremely slippery and, when I tried to make my way back, I had to go on hands and knees or slide all the way off the edge. Made a right mess of the trousers. Once the sun came out, I dug out the waterproof trousers I hadn't bothered using before and changed into them so that was fine. More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.