Best of Mates.

After a cold and windy day, a shower of rain, then the sun appearing momentarily, I dashed out into the garden to take some photos of my baby magpies. I don't know how long they will be here, their parents send them away to find their own territory as they mature, so I wanted some photos to remember them being here at this time of year.

There were a few unexpected splash sounds coming from the pool though! As I was home alone, and no longer have a pet pup, that could only mean one thing ~ there was a kookaburra taking a "bird bath"!

After he had decided that he was all spic and span, he flew up into the bare branches of the frangipani tree, where he wiggled and flicked and scratched his feathers for ages. A cute little Noisy Minor came to keep him company, and they exchanged a few "looks", which seemed to be of a pleasant nature as the Minor stayed by the kookaburras side, right throughout his preening exercise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.