The Fever

Burning Spear - Door Peeper

After a great weekend, I woke up this morning having visualized what I wanted to do today. A moment passed where I was inundated with a sense of dread. It's the start to my work week, oh dear. I realized that this was becoming an automated habit and a very bad one that creates a lot of useless negativity because my emotion took over. Yes, I have to work, but that helps me do what I do. I have a roof over my head, all my faculties, friends and family. I got rid of that emotion quickly and remembered how good the weekend was. My close friend had got married to his wonderful new wife in Australia, I contacted my friends, family and got to get things done. Where's the worry there?

I proceeded to go to the gym, clean up my apartment and have a great day at work, which I did. One of my students came back from Hawaii and bought me a t-shirt and a couple of fresh magazines, American Rolling Stone and People. He didn't need to do it, but he did and I was grateful. Had a good time with co-workers and got work done to the best of my abilities. Kicked arse basically.

Now winding down from the day, my eyes are still open and ready to do more things. But I'll save that for tomorrow. This book, Psycho-Cybernetics by Maxwell Maltz is a really interesting read. Similar in a sense to Alain De Botton's Status Anxiety, but less philosophical and more "self-help", it's an enjoyable read.

One more thing to do before I go to bed.

Oh yeah, I spotted a Japanese celebrity in my city today! How awesome. I decided to eat outside and enjoy the weather during my break and read my book and coincidentally I was able to witness a TV show filming. How fortunate.

I choose to enjoy and appreciate what is now. What else can you do?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.