June challenge: Day 5 ......

The Grapes of Wrath.

I could have gone with the obvious today ...... fighting grapes!

But I decided to put our collection of Barbies to work. As well as the covered wagon I have used previously.

The plot of the book/movie is: A poor Midwest family is forced off of their land. They travel to California, suffering the misfortunes of the homeless in the Great Depression. I have not seen the movie so I don't know if they traveled by wagon from their family farm in Oklahoma to California, but that's how I pictured it in my mind.

[the family is leaving the farm, heading for California]
Al Joad: Ain't you gonna look back, Ma? Give the ol' place a last look?
Ma Joad: We're going' to California, ain't we? All right then let's go to California.
Al Joad: That don't sound like you, Ma. You never was like that before.
Ma Joad: I never had my house pushed over before. Never had my family stuck out on the road. Never had to lose everything I had in life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.