The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Blue hills

When I looked out of the window at 0615 the house was shrouded in mist, but as Gus and I left the house 15 minutes later it was already clearing. This was taken as we climbed out of Redhills Wood, looking east across Clawthorpe Fell. The sun was already high in the sky, and at this moment the cloud was just peeling back to give this partly illuminated landscape of blue hills, mist and trees. Mornings like this are simply divine, the reward for the early riser. I have posted another photo of the low hills stepping up to Ingleborough here.

I paid for another late night and early morning later in my meeting in Manchester. As the agenda moved off the items I was interested in, I began feeling narcoleptic. I had another lesson about preparedness too: as I was approaching the building I noticed a sculpture of a crocodile being led by a rat on a lead through a rectangular water feature. I had enough time to stop and take a photograph, but I thought no, I will take it on the way out. But when we left, it was gone. Led away somewhere completely different by the rat perhaps. Or did I just imagine it in my narcoleptic haze?

Thank you for the favourites, stars and comments on the blip of the bounding, bouncy gorgeous Gus! Sorry that comments are thin at the moment, I am spending a lot of time sorting photos and text for the exhibition which is becoming somewhat imminent. Normal service will be resumed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.