... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Covered Market: The Timeless End

Forget that the market is changing in large ("L").

This family of tourists was treating the market like a continental market: as I took photographs this morning I saw them at a variety of the shops buying provisions for a picnic (fruit and vegetables, bread, provisions from the butcher...).

This end of the market still feels characterful and genuine (i.e. it hasn't changed much), but the far end is full of gift shops and cafés, and certainly sells/offers a lot of tat.

p.s. The butcher's sign reminds me that we're singing this appalingly tragic song in choir (The Goslings, by Frederic Bridge); I'm not sure that I can hack it, and it is even described as "humorous".

She was a pretty little gosling
and a gay young gosling he.
And "I love you" he said, "so dearly"
and "I love you too" said she.
"But alas we must part" he whispered,
"I'm off to the world so wide;
but love don't fear, I'll come next year
and make you, and make you my little bride."

'twas Michaelmas day at morning,
that he came home once more.
He met his true love's mother,
and oh! She was weeping sore.
"Too late, you have come" she whispered,
"They've taken your love away!
She never will be your bride, ah, me!
For she's going, she's going to be cooked today."

Then up he went to the farmhouse.
"Where is my love?" he said.
But the farmer's wife, she seized a knife
and cut off his little head.
And she served him up with his true love,
on a dish so deep and wide.
So though in life they were parted,
in death they were side by side

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.