Grass vetchling

It's been a very, very long day, starting with a dew-soaked early morning walk with Rosie, out along the river and then back along the Rowing Lake. I saw a perfect common blue butterfly warming itself on a grass stem, the first I've ever seen in that area, and chased after many red-eyed damselflies, which always seem to be very alert and didn't let me get close enough for a decent image.

Then it was back to print recording forms and make packed lunches before driving down the A1 to Hertfordshire for a day of surveying on a very large site. The highlight of the visit was finding an extraordinarily large population of grass vetchling Lathyrus nissolia, which is one of my favourite species. The intensely bright pink flowers are unmistakeable, but the foliage is so grass-like that this species is almost impossible to record when it's not flowering. I'm amazed I managed to get a decent image, as there was a strong breeze blowing all day! This very southern species favours disturbed habitats, particularly on calcareous clay, and seems to have spread recently, possibly because it is sometimes included in commercial seed mixes.

After about six hours of walking my leg slowed me down to a snail's pace, but it was never actually painful. I think I'll sleep well tonight - it's off to bed now as I can hardly keep my eyes open...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.