Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

Over the Hills and Far Away

Today I went off to the majestic Malvern Hills! I caught the train from Euston just before 8.00 a.m. and was in Great Malvern before midday. I was so pleased to see the sun out when I arrived, as the forecast there was for showers for most of the day, so set off to get to get to the top of the Worcestershire Beacon while the weather was still good and hopefully wouldn't get washed away back down the hills or struck by lightning!

I took this at the summit, which is 425 m (1,394 ft). It is so wonderful up there, with skylarks singing, swallows swooping (or were they swifts?) . After I reached the top, there were huge rain clouds gathering, but I got down to St. Anne's Well Cafe, near the bottom just as it started to rain, so popped inside for the usual lettuce leaf and water.

I had a wander around Great Malvern, which is a very attractive town, then back home via Birmingham.

Sorry, I'm a bit too tired to catch up with your journals, but will try to tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.