Someone to Watch Over Me

Now, Swan update. I believe this is the only surviving cygnet resulting from the nest shots posted over the last few weeks. And I think this chap has already had an eventful life.

Last time I saw him/her, he/she was being carried off by a guy on a mountain bike. Being a sucker for a stereotype, I figured this chap was up to no good so legged it round to the Warden's lodge to report the abduction. Turns out the abductor was from the BBC (still don't believe that bit) and had somehow rescued the bird from the clutches of a Herring Gull and was in the process of re-uniting mother and cygnet when he was apprehended.

So that's the story behind my 'Rescue' post earlier in the week. I think the chicks, goslings and cygnets face a tough time ahead as there was a big gull presence today.

Fingers crossed. Updates to follow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.