elfin

By elfin

Water water everywhere

So looks like I spoke too soon in yesterday's blip! This morning was about to go in the shower before heading to meet my NCT friends when my waters broke. It was a proper film style gush - luckily was over the loo at the time! I couldn't believe how much there was and how much kept coming! Thank god I was at home rather than out and about. Phoned the fella to ask him to head home - he tried to leave quietly but first he told his boss that he needed to go who cheered loudly so the whole office could hear! They've all been waiting for news and lovely that they're so excited. Also rang the hospital who asked me to go in for a check up.

Waited for the fella, had some breakfast, finished packing the bags just in case and headed off. The midwives were lovely and quickly reassured me that all was fine - it then took a little while to find out next steps whilst I continued to leak! I assumed that once your waters had gone that was it but turns out you keep producing more!! Anyway got sent home with some thermometers to take my temperature every 4 hours and a promise to phone first thing tomorrow regardless of what's happened.

Back home didn't quite know what to do with ourselves - made quick phone calls to the parents to say we were back then the fella popped out to get some food. There was then a quiet knock at the door and my amazing and fabulous friend was there with magazines and cake despite her living in Manchester! She was in the Midlands with work and felt the need to come round - which was awesome.

Since then been chatting with friends (who as I said yesterday are bloody brilliant), having a snooze, watching TV, eating and trying to relax. I'm fairly sure labour is now starting - have had period type pains for a while and am getting what I assume are contractions too. Either way we're back to the hospital tomorrow until the baby arrives! Which is exciting / scary / surreal.

My mum and dad are so excited - I've had to promise to phone them in the middle of the night if things progress. Apparently dad is so excited - I knew mum would be but he's more so - and said it's different when it's his daughter having a baby compared to when it was his son (well daughter in law!). Bless him.

So who knows if it was the curry or the pineapple or the massage but whatever it was hoorah! Will keep you posted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.