Te Wairewa Reflections

Our truck has been off the road for a couple of days since it was towed round by the recovery service to Little River. So with the fuel pump now repaired, I went round to the village to collect it this afternoon.

It was pretty grey out there, but I thought it might be worthwhile stopping at Caton's Bay to see if anything interesting was happening on Lake Forsyth.

As I pulled in to the empty carpark, I was surprised to see a sole white heron/kotuku standing a few yards from the tar seal on the edge of the lake. As I was in my neighbours truck, I didn't have all my gear with me - most notably my 120-300mm lens. If I had, I would have had a fantastic chance for a closeup of the wonderful white bird, but alas it was not to be.

Grabbing my camera with 24-70mm lens fitted, I did have the opportunity to capture this shot of Kinloch Hill across the lake reflecting in the water's surface.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.