Meles

By meles

Anthem

This is one of those things that I see every day and only occasionally stop to look at - but I heard on the news that the Scottish team have chosen Flower of Scotland to be their anthem for the up-coming Commonwealth Games. Hamish Henderson's Freedom Come All Ye would have been my be my choice - not that it's my business really since I am not Scottish and definitely not an athlete! But it seems to me to express some of the things I most admire and love in the Scottish people.

This slightly crumpled and yellowing piece of paper has been on our pinboard in various flats since DaveH returned with it from the all night vigil up at Calton Hill in....1992, I think....which was one of the early demonstrations of the people's desire that there should be a Scottish Parliament.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.