Meles

By meles

Turkey Craw

Belatedly sending off my order to the Heritage Seed library - I'll be fairly far down the queue, so my seeds will be even more of a lucky dip than usual. I was spoilt for blipping choice with so many amazing names;

a beetroot called Dewings Early Blood Turnip,

cucumber Boothby's Blond,

French bean District Nurse
(saved from extinction by...you guessed, a district nurse!),

lettuce Amish deer tongue

- but in the end I went for the climbing French bean Turkey Craw. The full description reads

"Delightfully named, this bean has its origins in the Appalachians. Said to have been removed from the crop of a dead turkey by a hunter in the nineteenth century, hence the name. It has multiple stems at the base of the plant and two or three leaders. The white flowers fade to apricot and the beans are said to be very good dried or for canning. 10 seeds."

Even more belatedly, I've realised that the beans pictured aren't actually Turkey Craw at all, but Waley's Pea Bean. Ah, well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.