Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie's first pub

Jean and John left this morning for a day in the city with their daughter, who was meeting them here (from NZ). Then they were going to Jean’s family for a few weeks, and to include a Big Do for their 50th wedding anniversary! It was great to see them and catch up - I’m very jealous of their fitness levels - they did quite a strenuous part of the Robert Louis Stevenson Way in France before coming to the UK, and have done many walks in the past.

Today Archie went to his first pub. I think he thought it was a bit boring, but he sat quietly and didn’t whine. He was up on the seat for the photo, but then lay under the table. I also made him sit on the floor in the bus - we had a seat with plenty of room. He just licked the floor (yuk!) and was distracted by an empty can that rolled down the bus, then back up the bus.

In between boring (for him) buses and pubs, we had a walk in a different part of the Meadows. I tied the lead to me, and so I could use two hands with my camera, but still I wasn’t fast enough. He ran round and round me like crazy. In fact, I got too dizzy to keep up.

He’s just gone for a snooze. He was on my knee, drifting off, while I tried (in vain) to get to his ears with the drops. They haven’t been too successful. Well, they have, as he’s no longer scratching like mad, so some of the stuff must have gone it over the week. I don’t know how he knows, but no matter how cautious I am, he will look up just as I’m about to squeeze the bottle above his ear. We’ll see what the vet says this evening.

As he was drifting off to sleep on my knee, he did a little fart. First time. He got such a fright and jumped up looking around to see what had happened. So funny.

Thanks for all your comments of late - I haven’t been keeping up. I’ll turn comments off for a while to catch up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.