Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Even hotter today!

Even more of a scorcher today. Especially in our back garden. Archie has mastered the art of playing 'fetch' with his big red football. Great fun! I took a weird notion -  I think I may have had heat stroke - and crawled round the edges of the lawn, which is encroaching on the paving stones. In the full sun. Clipping it into a neat edge. With a pair of scissors.  OCD?

I happened upon a 'three ingredient pancake ' recipe (and one ingredient was optional) on my iPad this morning while still in bed, and was so excited about it -  that's my kind of recipe!!  I made it while still in my jammies. All you need is a banana, two eggs and cinnamon. Tastes more like a banana omelet than a pancake, but nice...

Later on we went for a shady walk in the Hermitage of Braid - it's all in a forest, and so was nice and cool. Archie had a couple of paddles, and we walked along with Skip, a bouncy Welsh springer spaniel, and his dad.

There were lots of students in the river, measuring stuff (all their bags were on the riverbank)... I spied a big labradoodle sticking her nose into someone's bag, and gave a warning yell, which was ignored/not heard. Mabel - for it was she - grabbed a cling-wrapped sandwich (actually a bap) and took off. Mabel's mum, an older woman did not have a hope of catching her, as she (Mabel) kept skipping off just out of reach. What fun! When I left, Mabel had been cornered and the student who wanted their lunch back (don't know why) was trying, unsuccessfully, to prise open Mabel's jaws.

We're popping across the Links this evening for an early evening meal at our favourite dog friendly pub. Two mains for £10 is a pretty good deal!

Bag almost packed. Off to Holland tomorrow!

EDIT: It was an entree and a main for £10. Still pretty good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.