KatPrice

By KatPrice

Celebration

What better way to celebrate the end of exams? Rob and I had planned to go out for a celebratory dinner the evening after I finished, but I unfortunately came down with a headache pretty soon after (probably a combination of a sweltering exam hall for three hours, exam stress, and dehydration), so we re-scheduled.

I've wanted to go to Wilde's for quite a while now as I've always heard how nice it is - and it didn't disappoint. Duck with burnt orange segments for starter, and then the tenderest of cider braised pork belly with apple mash. Really wonderful end to a stressful time, and a well-deserved treat. And of course we couldn't let it go by without a glass of prosecco.

It's such a wonderful feeling to not have to race to the library at 7am every day, slog through the same material again and again, the familiar panic, the sleepless nights, the loss of appetite, the mouth ulcers, the hand blisters, the paper cuts... whoever said that exams are getting easier for students? To just be able to have a lie-in, to be able to read what I want to and not feel guilty for just watching a film or going for a short walk. It's the best feeling. Currently mid-way through Anna Karenina and loving it - the first book that I have read for pleasure since I was about 16. Roll on freedom!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.