KatPrice

By KatPrice

Stratford

Once more unto the breach - Erin and I once more trekked over to Stratford (this time with crutches in tow) to see the RSC's Henry IV (Part One).

Absolutely phenomenal production, so unbelievably chuffed that I got to see an Antony Sher/Gregory Doran production, and for free! Thank you Boar! Part One was much better than Part Two in my opinion, far funnier, but they were both pretty astounding. Really cheered me up; it's difficult getting around with crutches, and so to get away from the confines of my bedroom was a real treat. Little Irish bought a load of picnic food for us to eat out on the grass in the sun - and I got to keep all the leftovers.

Stratford is such a beautiful place, one of the places I'm really going to miss next year. Having a location so close by with such a fascinating Shakespeare heritage and such a brilliant theatre has been one of the real highlights of being a Warwick English student. Although I've seen numerous productions there, especially this year (The Tempest, Doran's Henry IV, Antony and Cleopatra, Titus Andronicus, Tennant's Richard II, Patrick Stewart in The Merchant of Venice...) I do wish I'd made even more of an effort to visit. One of the many places I will be sad to say goodbye to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.