Stirling Castle in June

Shuna and I walked up in the forest this morning, along a different path to the one I walked with Bertie and Sammy last Thursday, and I was amazed to see how tall the recently-planted trees had grown since we were last up that way. Soon it'll be impossible to see the loch, which is a pity. Needs must, I suppose. The forest industry is an important one in Scotland.

After an appointment in Fintry, where the beautiful day prompted me to stop and take umpteen scenic photos, I continued into Stirling, via The Woodhouse for coffee, to meet cousin Alison for lunch at The River House. We both opted for the black pudding 'bonbons' and chutney for starters, then Alison chose a quiche and salad and I had pork-and-haggis sausages on a potato mash. As always the food was delicious.

It was a toss-up between the Fintry hills and Stirling Castle. The castle won.

I think it's back to rain tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.