Cathy's Building

Today I painted at open studio. The usual suspects were there plus Jo who came back after a long absence. As always, we had a great time, and everybody's work was wonderful. Gotta say, the gals who paint in Studio UFO are really really good! I'm proud of everybody there. Our work is all very different and very fine, in my never humble opinion. ;-)

So why is this Cathy's building? Well, Cathy has this great habit of painting whatever she happens to see in the studio. And today she finished a painting she did of the view out of the studio front window, across the hall and through the multi-paned window which faces the street. Her paintings are moody, abstract and wonderful. Today's was no exception. As we were wrapping up our critiques I noticed how cool everything looked through those windows, so I popped out the door with my little Sony camera, and took a few photos through those old windows. This is one of the photos I took. This is how it looked through the old glass. I increased the detail a bit using the Nik detail extractor, but otherwise, this is the way it was. If Cathy hadn't painted what she did, I'd not have noticed it in quite the same way. So thank you Cathy. Large version to see more detail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.