Flood at Taylor Dam

The weather continues to be wet and bleak. At least the strong south-easterly winds have abated somewhat. I drove to the Taylor Dam this morning. The road into the lake area is closed as we have another significant flood there.
I climbed up the track to the top of the dam. The view from up there was quite dramatic. The rain was sheeting down and I was once again glad of my umbrella in order to keep my camera dry.
As you can see in today’s image, the flood waters are everywhere with big trees isolated and drift wood swirling was around near the outlet. The water levels have already dropped over a metre. It would have been quite a sight when it was at its peak. I always feel sorry for the swans and other birds that live in and around the lake.
The Taylor River is still running high through town and folk have been advised to give it a wide berth especially after yesterday’s dramatic rescue of a young schoolgirl who was swept away downstream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.