The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

River Marden

I spent a fair portion of this day on a failed quest to find a family of swans that I'd heard lived in Calne. It has been some years since there have been any swans in the town, and a pair with some cygnets had apparently been causing traffic disruption on the A4 on the east side of the town. I'd begun my search by the road bridge at Quemerford by the mill, and then driven to Blacklands Mill and explored footpaths there, until the path diverted from the Marden riverside (getting somewhat soaked in the long wet grasses in the process), and on to Calstone, where the river goes under the road at Theobald's Cross. I was almost out of options by now, the only point left that I could think of was at Horsebrook. This shot was taken as I walked east from there beside the river.

The swans had been sighted at the Blackland turn-off from the A4, it turned out, a little way from the Mill, and later in the day they'd also been seen in Rookery Park, very near to my first stop in Quemerford, walking along the road in the opposite direction from the river. They'd been guided back to the river each time.

I have yet to see them, but they are apparently quite familiar to people whose houses back onto the river, where there is no public access, and I believe in Castlefields Park. If I see them, I will blip them.

L.
12.6.2014 (1249 hr)

Blip #1288
Consecutive Blip #150
Day #1527

Lens: Sigma 70-300mm

River series
River Marden series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Chrissie Hynde - Dark Sunglasses (recorded live, Later..., 20 May 2014)
So cool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.