Mikey88

By Mikey88

Azure

This morning I took my daughter to work and then went down to the local nature reserve. I couldn't stay too long, as Mrs Mikey had decided she wanted to go out for lunch, so I didn't do the section round the river, just walked down the lane. The sun wasn't too high, so the light was patchy as it came through the trees and one of the insects it illuminated was this azure damsel fly.

I did blip one which had visited our pond a few days ago, but this is a much better shot and if you look at it in large, you can really see the detail of the tracery in the wings and the fine hairs on its body.

In case you haven't seen it, Pauline, I've blipped a cloud picture for you to appreciate yesterday. Hope you enjoyed it.

In case you're wondering, lunch was at Powder Mills Pottery on Dartmoor, where I had a cream tea - which came with a huge amount of clotted cream. So much, that after I'd finished the scone and jam, I just had to polish off what was left with the teaspoon. Pure decadence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.