Trial Run

I finally got around to giving the printing press another trial run this afternoon. Yesterday I cut some small plates from soft plywood to try out a technique that was shown to us by Merlyn Chesterman almost a year ago when we went to stay for a few days last July. You cut the plate up into sections and then ink different parts of it in different colours. With a few of these cut-up plates on the go the permutations are endless. In the end, this version was my favourite. I'd already printed my first set of colours and shapes before I got to this stage - so the photo shows the second wooden block on the left and the final print on the right. Now I need to work out how to keep the pieces from splitting apart how to get the registration spot on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.