Checking out the meadow

I went to check out the flowering state of the orchids at Pye-Flatts meadow on my way back from Cannon Hall this afternoon. The orchids are doing fine and there are lots of them, but some of the bottom flowers are just beginning to go over. I loved the quaking grass that was dotted about the field so decided that it should feature here today. At the time I was waking it I was cursing my lack of an appropriate lens and tripod. It wasn't until I'd driven half way home that I remembered I'd got a small tripod in the boot (because it's tucked away near the spare wheel compartment I tend to forget it). As you can see it was wet, so wet feet and trousers legs for me too.

There are far too many species here for me to name (or recognise) but among my favourites are the Yellow Rattle and Bugle - lots to be seen today. Not all peace and tranquility though, thanks to a Yellowhammer busily calling from the hedge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.