Mudder Everest

I had no intention of going to watch the 12 mile Tough Mudders two day event today but while I was in Dalkeith I noticed hundreds of very happy muddy people leaving Dalkeith Park so decided to see if I could see anything of interest.   I wandered through the gate wondering if I could get in at a reduced rate as the events were finishing and found that there was no one to take my money so just walked in.

There were hundreds of people still completing the course so I was lucky and took photos at several of the obstacles. I watched people fall in the    river,   slide down a huge  muddy water slide and fly into a pool, dodge  hanging electric wires in thick mud and collect their orange head band for completing the course.  Eventually I decided that although this blip is not one of the best photos it shows the view looking back towards    yesterday's  blip.

Climbing up the greasy  Everest  obstacle proved difficult for some and here some can be seen sliding back down while others are being hauled up by fellow Mudders.  (See it in large) It is not a race but a day of pushing the boundaries through physical skill and determination and helping one another through teamwork and having fun.  

The enthusiasm of the participants was great and I really wish I could have taken part but I would have to be very much younger and very much fitter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.