If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Ants Nest

A "normal" Saturday with a twist. Last week rain stopped be finishing cutting the grass at the Lodge so I had half of it with two weeks growth. I needed to replace a plank in the verandah as it was broken by a guest (my fault for not spotting it had become weak). Clickychick needed to finish quickly to check on her Mum who isn't well again.

As you can imagine when in a hurry the extra work wasn't welcome. On one of the banks which surround the lodge we have a concrete copy of an Ammonite (a link to CC's past life when she had the Gem Den). To keep the grass tidy around it I pick it up and move it mow the grass and replace. I have been doing this now for 10 years and during that time there has been an Ants next underneath.

The routine if the same. Mow to a foot or so away from the ammonite, pick it up and place it on the part I have mowed mow put to the edge of the bare part, then replace. Yo day it was as full as I have ever seen it so I decided to take a few shots. I am not sure what a casual observer would think of a grown man lying on the grass with his camera an inch or so from a bare patch of earth.

Insects are a branch of wildlife that I know very little about but I do know that in general ants bite. However I understand there is one species which doesn't bite. I am beginning to suspect this may be a nest of that kind. In all these years of handling the ammonite I have never been bitten. Today when I got up after a couple of minutes taking shots my arms were covered with a couple of dozen ants - still no bites

If any blipper happens to be an "antologist" (or what ever they are called) I would welcome an identification and any information they can supply.

The picture shows larvae to the left and pupae to the right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.