Moments

By togrrrl

1 second gesture

OMG, I started a new drawing class tonight, and I'm totally intimidated. It seems like everyone else in the class either has a degree in art, or is getting one or has taken years and years of classes.

And then there's me, who has pretensions to artistic leaning and I want to try to learn how to draw, but I'm not there yet. And I don't know if I'll ever be where "there" is.

Oh well. Dive right in. And try to keep a straight face drawing a naked man doing a hand stand. Just use your imagination for that one.

One of the exercises was a "1 second gesture" where you had one second to capture the essence of a pose.

I thought - hey, why not try a 1 second gesture photograph? So I set the exposure to 1 second and moved the camera in the direction of the tension in the person. And here is an example.

It's a pretty interesting effect. This is naked Ben reaching out his arm. I have one of his torso, but I might get kicked of Blipfoto for that one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.