Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Banana Bread & Milk

Another blip of a post-dinner snack. My mother is an excellent cook. She prepares the best Filipino dishes and she bakes too. She usually makes home-made banana bread, but this time she received some assistance from a boxed helper. Let's just say the box doesn't quite cut it. The bread with the fresh ingredients definitely has the upper hand. The boxed stuff looked pretty when baked, but it was less flavorful and it a bit rubbery.

So, the other day, I looked up the rate of acceptance for Teach for America applicants and the percentages are rather low. For 2009, there were roughly 35,000 applicants. Only less than 12% of those applicants were offered positions. The year before that in 2008, 24,718 individuals applied and about 15% were offered positions. These numbers are rather low and that means that competition is extremely high. I really don't believe I have what it takes to be that competitive. Even though I'm interested, I just don't have the skill or much know-how to conduct a class.

At my graduation ceremony, one of the speakers told us that in order to be successful, you must pick your battles. Although I may be want to be a teacher one day, I think this route may just not be for me. I have other plans before becoming a teacher. I can always focus on those before I settle down with a teaching career.

Thank you to my fellow blippers who always offer me their support. I really appreciate all your kind words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.