SarahClem

By SC26

Father's Day

Somehow it's my third without my Dad. It certainly doesn't get any easier. It's just another day really, but after weeks with adverts, cards, presents etc rammed down your throat, it still feels upsetting not to be able to go and give Dad a big hug and spend the day together.

This year, I spent my day doing something I know he would have approved of; I did my longest cycle yet. 40 miles through the Essex countryside. We went through Ardleigh, Lawford, Mistley, Wrabness and back again, making friends with a lovely Beagle on the way. We had perfect roads for the start/end but the middle section; when we got into real countryside was full of killer hills. Tackling them on our heavy old Raleigh's is no mean feat, but we did it, and had a brilliant time! I just wish I could tell my Dad (a cycle enthusiast) all about it.

We were ravenous by the time we got home and met my Mum for a Deli lunch before slumping on the sofa for the rest of the afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.