kid with a camera.

By calamityjane

Poor Thing

So I was all ready to head out to Vic Halls to get ready for the dance show, literally closing my bedroom door, when I heard a window-bang sound. When I got to the window there were patches of feathery fluff stuck to it, so assuming it was a poor pigeon who was looking the wrong way, I went outside to see. Outside, lying on it's back directly beneath my window, was a little brown bird. It was still alive, twitching, but stunned to say the least.

I decided it would be best if it was back up on it's feet, so very gently I lifted the poor thing up and put it in my palm. It still had a little stone clenched in it's grip, but upon removing it the bird instantly gripped on to my finger for support. It kept turning it's head round and touching it's wing with it's beak very gently, and had one eye almost completely closed so I'm assuming it had hurt it's wing and eye when flying at full force into my window, only to make it worse by falling 20 feet from the height of my bedroom upstairs.

I felt awful leaving it, but I was already running late, so I put it on a messy looking pot-plant where it wouldn't be see easily by a cat and couldn't get any more injured.

When I returned this evening the bird had gone, I would like to think it recovered and flew away in peace though :)

The dance show went really well, I remembered all of my steps (almost) and received a special leaving present from my dance teacher of more than 10 years, going to miss classes and my MRD dancing family more than I will know..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.