TWAS ON A MONDAY MORNING.....

…..the gas man came to call - except it wasn't the gas man, but the washing machine engineer - in the continuing saga of my rogue washing machine.

This is the 5th visit and the same fault each time - but despite long telephone conversations with the Technical Department of JL (never knowingly undersold, but not willing to replace a Friday afternoon rogue machine!) they insisted that they wanted to try and cure the fault.

The appointment was for between 8 and 1, so I decided I would stay in and do some housework and wait. However, spot on 8 a.m. the bell rang and in walked Karl - bright and breezy for a Monday morning. He quickly got to work, and of course, I saw a blip opportunity, so here he is - he said he was happy for me to take his photograph but drew the line at smiling at me, especially first thing on a Monday!!

Mr. HCB had a good chat with him about motorbike racing and all sorts of other things, whilst I made him a cup of coffee. As I didn't think I would be going out, I also asked if I could put a Post-It on his toolbox, and again, he was happy for me to do that - so I put the one which said "Happiness depends on You" and he said he would take it into the office to show them later today. If you want to see the Post-Its, have a look here.

A thorough and very pleasant young man - and I hope now the machine will function without cutting out - I've put in a load of washing, so time will tell.

In case you are wondering, this is our downstairs loo where we display lots of family photographs - usually when friends use it, they apologise for taking so long, but say they have been looking at the photos.

Couldn't have any other song (which I know I have blipped before, but is so appropriate today of all days!) than this one by Flanders and Swann,

I'm just going to phone Karl's company and tell them what a good and pleasant worker he is - I believe we need to give praise when it's due.

Off for a blipmeet tomorrow, so excited about that - who has time to be bored?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.