Not Mush Left

There is a patch on our lawn where beautiful edible mushrooms grow. A few weeks ago MrQ picked a lovely one for his breakfast.

The other day I spotted another. It looked so gorgeous surrounded by daisies that I took its picture from lots of angles. When MrQ cut the grass he left it in its own little flowery island.

This evening I noticed that it looked tired. I lifted the cap and it was just like a piece of paper. Maggots were crawling everywhere. They have eaten all the flesh. :(

I think these are Sciarid larvae. When I was a child a commercial grower used to give my parents mushrooms that weren't good enough to market. They often had little grubs in them. My mother used to say, "Never mind, they're only made of mushroom." Ugh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.